latest entry :: older entries :: contact me :: diaryland

2004-02-20

3:29 p.m.

I figured out what my New Year's resolution will be (other than getting healthy). To immerse myself completely in the essense of the following words:

accordance

affluence

amplitude

arrangement

attunement

augustness

beauty

blend

blending

bliss

breadth

brightness

brilliance

celebrity

ceremony

chime

chord

chorus

circumstance

comfort

composition

concentus

concert

concinnity

concurrence

consonance

dazzle

delight

diapason

dignity

display

distinction

effulgence

elevation

eminence

enjoyment

euphony

exorbitance

expansiveness

extra

extravagance

fame

fineness

frill

glory

glory

gorgeousness

grandiosity

gratification

gravity

greatness

handsomeness

harmonics

harmony

hedonism

high-living

immensity

immoderation

importance

impressiveness

inclusiveness

indulgence

intemperance

leisure

loftiness

luster

luxuriousness

luxury

magnificence

majesty

mellifluousness

melodiousness

melody

might

music

musicality

nobility

nonessential

opulence

opulence

organum

overtone

pageant

pageantry

piece

polyphony

pomp

preciousness

preeminence

radiance

rarity

refulgence

renown

resplendence

richness

satisfaction

show

solemnity

sound

spectacle

splendor

state

stateliness

stylishness

sublimity

sumptuousness

superbity

sway

symphony

transcendency

treat

tune

tunefulness

unison

unity

vastness

well-being

In regards to: Literature, architecture, music and art. There was once a time when I yearned for all things beautiful. I think I'd like to re-immerse myself in this quest. I must make a date with myself to go to the Detroit Institute of Arts, to wander around Belle Isle once again, to discover Cranbrook, to regularly get lost in John King books, Book Beat and the libraries with which this area is blessed. I hope to muster enough courage to enter into the halls of the Scarab Club or Pewabic Pottery; take a drawing class somewhere, learn how to paint in watercolor. I'd like to once again become entangled in the vines of Art Nouveau, revel in the simple beauty of William Morris and the Arts and Crafts movement. This is what I'd like to do.

previous -- next

My Random Detroit Links

Tell me your thoughts!

Become a Member of kyliesdetroitsruinsclub



powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


FastCounter by bcentral

Please! Please! Please! Join my Notify List:
email:
Powered by Captive Lollipop Guild Members