latest entry :: older entries :: contact me :: diaryland

2004-04-08

2:35 p.m.

Yesterday, I was at the Solanus Casey Center for a staff retreat. I took some pictures of the grand lobby and some sculptures in the courtyard. A few of us went to Mt. Elliott cemetery across the street. Mt. Elliott is the Catholic cemetery, located behind better-known Elmwood Cemetery. I snapped a couple of photos there as well. Hope you enjoy.

This sculpture is named �Brother Sun.�

This sculpture is named �Sister Earth.� She reminds me very much of my younger sister, Angel

This is the lobby of the Solanus Casey Center. These sculptures are made of bronze. Some are of spiritual leaders of our time, others are of every day people. The statue in the foreground is Dorothy Day.

Just a glance outside through a windown in a conference room.

Now on to Mt. Elliott cemetery. This is the headstone of an infant named Cecilia.

I was supposed to be taking a picture of the group but I didn�t wait long enough for the camera to shoot, so I ended up taking a picture of the sky. Turned out sort of nice anyway.

These crosses must have been 20 feet high. Monuments to two Irish families.

In Elmwood and Mt. Elliott, there are quite a few mourning figures in place of angels or crosses, as was the fashion of that era.

There are several family tombs in both cemeteries. This one had beautiful, austere brass work. You can sort of see my reflection in the glass.

previous -- next

My Random Detroit Links

Tell me your thoughts!

Become a Member of kyliesdetroitsruinsclub



powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


FastCounter by bcentral

Please! Please! Please! Join my Notify List:
email:
Powered by Captive Lollipop Guild Members