latest entry :: older entries :: contact me :: diaryland

2004-04-28

11:43 a.m.

Last Friday, I attended the Detroit Historical Museum's Woodward Speakeasy, the kickoff to their 1920's weekend. The evening was filled with jazz, dancing, booze and gambling! It was fantastic. My flapper alter-ego came out and she did a little gambling (with chips, for raffle tickets, not real money); some drinking and a little coke (I drunk one diet coke [please,did you really think I'd drink or actually do the cocaine?!]), took picutes, and was continually swept away by the jazz band and the fabulous swing dancers. Needless to say, I was in bliss!



These dancers were amazing! After seeing them dance at another function, the DHM event person invted them to this event to keep the guests interested in the music and dancing. Boy did they deliver! They're just a group of friends who enjoy swing dancing; not a formal group. I'm going to try and contact them to see if they give lessons anyway. It wouldn't hurt to hang out with some swingin' shieks and shebas!



The second girl from the left was amazing, amazing, amazing!
The complete embodiment of a jazz baby!



The guy in this picture, I was told, is the person who gets his friends together to dance.
I'm thinking that he's the one that teaches.



Here's the doll in action! Did I mention that the men were fantastic dancers as well?
They all blew my socks off!



Look at how cute this couple is!



The Speakeasy was held in the downstairs portion of the museum called the Streets of Old Detroit. It's a re-creation of a Detroit neighborhood at the turn of the century with cobblestone streets, five and dime stores, apothecary, barber shops and music stores. I took this picture through the window of the apothecary.Notice the flappers on the left!



This is Kim, whom I met at the very beginning of the night. We were the only two gals who had cloches on. I'm going to visit her this Sunday. Always nice to meet new people!



And now for some cam-whoring!
It's not often that I like the way I look in pictures.
But these make my happy!

My flapper alter-ego.



This is me on the Streets of Old Detroit in front of the music shop. How appropriate! Wee!



Here I am at the soda fountain serving up some Vernors.



This remindeds me of an Anais Nin "Delta of Venus" type book cover.

Well, that's pretty much it for the speakeasy folks. Hope you enjoyed your stay.

previous -- next

My Random Detroit Links

Tell me your thoughts!

Become a Member of kyliesdetroitsruinsclub



powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


FastCounter by bcentral

Please! Please! Please! Join my Notify List:
email:
Powered by Captive Lollipop Guild Members