latest entry :: older entries :: contact me :: diaryland

2002-07-23

11:58 p.m.

Had a pretty good weekend. I took Friday off and enjoyed a quiet day at home. Saturday, Mikey, Kobe, Dennis and I went to the Fourth Street Fair. The fair has been been an annual occurance for 25 years, put on by the residents of Fourth St. in Detroit.

I don't know about Mikey and the other guys, but I had a great time! For the guys, it was their first, for me, it's been my umpteenth (I've been going since I was 17). It was like visiting my hometown. Okay, yeah, so I lived 3/4 of a mile south of Fourth street, so I didn't technically live on Fourth street, but we're all part of the Midtown Community. :-)

Anyway, it was good to be "back home". It was nice to feel like I fit in somewhere.

Some photos from the Fourth St. Fair

Mullets and Punk Rock can co-exist peacefully

(l-r) Dennis, Kobe and Mikey

At the main stage a father and daughter
are waiting for the next local band.

Sunday, we did a whole lot of nothing. We started watching Nicholas Nickelby, the televised-play version not the film, performed by the Royal Shakespeare Theater Company. It's a twelve-hour long play. Can you imagine being part of a live audience for a play that long? I'm sure the play was spread out over a few days, but still. What a gargantuan production!

I saw my counselor this past Thursday. I think I'm well on my way to discerning my call in life. Sometimes I think it would be easier to be a Michigan automaton, working for one of the big three and living for Red Wings games. But I can't do that. That's death on a whole different level. You want to know what the undead look like? Well, they aren't the pretty Lestat types with big teeth. They're the ones living in houses that have a humongous two-car garage door in place of a porch; wearing printed sweatshirts over turtlenecks with stirrup pants. Drive a silver stake through my heart please if I ever end up like "them".

previous -- next

My Random Detroit Links

Tell me your thoughts!

Become a Member of kyliesdetroitsruinsclub



powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


FastCounter by bcentral

Please! Please! Please! Join my Notify List:
email:
Powered by Captive Lollipop Guild Members