latest entry :: older entries :: contact me :: diaryland

2004-07-29

4:30 a.m.

The Great Detroit TugBoat Trip

On Tuesday, July 13, 2004, Mike and I had the pleasure of seeing Detroit from it's river, crusing along on a tug boat! While the images aren't that great, they're still memories.
Some of the pictures turned out darker than I like because I was competing with the sun. So while it looked like it was dusk, it really was broad daylight. In spite of the camera issues, I was incredibly happy to get a chance to see Detroit from a completely new perspective. Come on board. Let's go for a cruise.



Here is a view of the the Detroit Yacht Club from the Roostertail dock.



Wave "Hi!" to Mayor Kwami! This is the backyard of the Manoogian Mansion.



Imagine how incredibly glamorous it was, living in these building in the 1920s, the height of Detroit's heyday! On the left is Arden Park towers, on the right is Indian Village Manor.



I've always wanted to see the Marine Corps' Broadhead Armory from the river. It seems like such a mysterious building. It still is, since the density of the trees completely block the view.



It's the Belle Isle Bridge! Access to the loveliest place in all of the Metro-Detroit area!



We're in the belly of the river! Actually, we're underneath the Belle Isle bridge now. Looks like ribs to me. Someone pass the barbecue sauce!



Hubba hubba! This is the River Place Hotel. The place where Mikey and I spent our wedding night. Rawr!



What tour down the river would be complete without one picture of the Renaissance Building?



The Ambassador Bridge, as seen from the tug boat.



From this angle, the Ambassador Bridge looks like a big lobster tail.



Because he's just that DAMN CUTE. Mikey on the river.



This is a bad picture of me. But it shows how incredibly happy I am when I'm on MY River, in MY City, in front of MY Bridge, which is leading to MY Island. Possessive of much? You better believe it.

previous -- next

My Random Detroit Links

Tell me your thoughts!

Become a Member of kyliesdetroitsruinsclub



powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


FastCounter by bcentral

Please! Please! Please! Join my Notify List:
email:
Powered by Captive Lollipop Guild Members